Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Celebrate EARTH DAY with These Titles From Harper Collins

HAPPY EARTH DAY!!!

(Pic from NASA)

To help celebrate today's EARTH DAY, check out some of these titles from Harper Collins!



Be sure to stop by Harper Children's Pinterest board to find more fabulous Earth Day titles to read with your kiddos. 



Sunday, April 20, 2014

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

EVERBLAZE by Shannon Messenger, Cover Reveal

Happy Wednesday! Check out this AWESOME cover reveal Shannon Messenger recently posted for her upcoming EVERBLAZE, the 3rd book in her Keeper of the Lost Cities series!


I think I might have just died and went to cover love heaven! I have loved each of Shannon's covers in this series, but this one might be the best one yet. As Shannon points out in her cover reveal post here, this is FITZ!!! Fitz!!!!

November 4th, 2014 seems so far away. I'm not sure I can wait that long for the book's release. If you haven't yet done so, I'd highly recommend picking up this series. I love it!

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

The Phoebe Dunn Collection: The Little Rabbit / The Little Duck by Judy Dunn, Book Review



By: Judy Dunn
Pictures by: Phoebe Dunn
Published by: Random House
Released on: January 28th, 2014 (originally released on 2/12/80)
Ages: 2 & up
Rating: 4 Owlets - My Daughter Enjoyed It!
Source: book from publisher to review
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to: Goodreads

Phoebe Dunn's beloved photographic picture book, The Little Rabbit, will hop it's way into the hearts of toddlers with this new board book edition. Photographs include the adventures of Buttercup the rabbit as she explores her meadow and makes new and special friends.



By: Judy Dunn
Pictures by: Phoebe Dunn
Published by: Random House
Released on: January 28th, 2014 (originally released on 3/12/76)
Ages: 2 & up
Rating: 4 Owlets - My Daughter Enjoyed It!
Source: book from publisher to review
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to: Goodreads

Phoebe Dunn's beloved photographic picture book, The Little Duck, will waddle it's way into the hearts of toddlers in this new board book edition. Photographs feature everything from the excitement of a hatching egg to a duck's adventures exploring his new world and making new friends.


My Thoughts on the Collection:
Just in time for Spring, The Little Rabbit and The Little Duck have been released from Random House. Perfect for little hands, these board books are a must have.These books also make the perfect gift for Easter.

As a child, I loved Judy Dunn's books, The Little Kitten, The Little Rabbit and The Little Duck. I'm thrilled that Random House has re-released this fabulous collection of books. I've enjoyed having the chance to read them with my little girl. Sure the pictures are throw back to the late 70's, early 80's, but they're pictures that kids today are sure to love, and enjoy looking at.

The Phoebe Dunn Collection is now available in board books, which are just perfect for little hands.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: New Additions To My Shelves

Happy Marvelous Middle Grade Monday!
Today I thought I'd share a few of the middle grade / children's books that have recently been added to my bookshelves. There are a ton of fabulous books that have recently been released and ones that will be released shortly. These are titles I'm looking forward to spotlighting here on the blog in the coming weeks. 


For Review





BOUGHT
We have a weakness in our house for buying books. I will never tell my children no when it comes to a book. I've recently purchased more books than what are featured here. These were the few that I rounded up. The others are already tucked away on shelves in my children's rooms. 

THANK YOU to
Disney Press, Disney Hyperion, Scholastic, Aladdin/Simon Kids, Random House, Bloomsbury, Dial, Walden Pond Press, Delacorte, Knopf Books, Katherine Tegen Books / Harper Collins, and Amulet books for the fabulous reads. 

What are some new children's books you've recently added to your shelves? 

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

International Children's Book Day: 10 Profound Children's Book Quotes That Probably Changed Your Life


"In honor of International Children’s Book Day (April 2), here are 10 of our favorite life-changing quotes from classic young adult books. 

giving-tree-book-cover
1. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
“‘I wish that I could give you something… but I have nothing left. I am an old stump. I am sorry…’
‘I don’t need very much now,’ said the boy, ‘just a quiet place to sit and rest. I am very tired.’
‘Well,” said the tree, straightening herself up as much as she could. ‘Well, an old stump is a good for sitting and resting. Come, Boy, sit down. Sit down and rest.’
And the boy did.
And the tree was happy.”

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
 “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why onearth should that mean that it is not real?”

3. Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne
 “How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”

4. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
 “Oh, it’s delightful to have ambitions. I’m so glad I have such a lot. And there never seems to be any end to them–that’s the best of it. Just as soon as you attain to one ambition you see another one glittering higher up still. It does make life so interesting.”
5. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
 “Sometimes it seemed to him that his life was delicate as a dandelion. One little puff from any direction, and it was blown to bits.”

the-giver-book-cover
6. The Giver by Lois Lowry
 “For the first time, he heard something that he knew to be music. He heard people singing. Behind him, across vast distances of space and time, from the place he had left, he thought he heard music too. But perhaps, it was only an echo.”

oh-the-places-you'll-go-book-cover
7. Oh, The Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss
 “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

8. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
“Wilbur never forgot Charlotte. Although he loved her children and grandchildren dearly, none of the new spiders ever quite took her place in his heart. She was in a class by herself. It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer. Charlotte was both.”

9. The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
“At one time, most of my friends could hear the bell, but as years passed, it fell silent for all of them. Even Sarah found one Christmas that she could no longer hear its sweet sound. Though I’ve grown old, the bell still rings for me, as it does for all who truly believe.”

light-in-the-attic-book-cover
10. A Light In the Attic by Shel Silverstein
“When the light turns green, you go. When the light turns red, you stop. But what do you do when the light turns blue with orange and lavender spots?”"

Find out more about International Children's Book Day here. Head over to the article linked here, and leave them a comment with your favorite children's book quote. 

Happy International Children's Book Day!


I had no idea there was such a day, but I totally LOVE it! In finding out more about what today is all about, I thought I'd share with you what I found out. 

Per here,  
On 2 April 2014 it will be International Childrens Book Day, inspiring children to pick up a book and get reading!  
April the 2nd was chosen to mark this day for young literature lovers as it's the same date as Hans Christian Andersen's birthday, the author of many famous children's stories like The Little Mermaid and The Ugly Duckling.   
Organised by the International Board on Books For Young People, or IBBY, the aim is to promote books and reading to young people.  IBBY was founded in Zurich, Switzerland in 1953 and today there are 70 National Sections from all parts of the world.  
During International Children's Book Day there will be a number of events held around the world, including writing competitions and talks from famous authors and illustrators. 
While you might be familiar with well-known works like Harry Potter and Alice in Wonderland, there is a whole host of fabulous children's books out there waiting to be discovered - not just by children but by adults who are young at heart too!
Go HERE to find out more about International Children's Books Day

Remember, celebrate today by spending time reading with a child. 

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

April 2014 MG Releases


Happy April 1st! 
I can't believe it's already April. This year is flying by. It's also coming up on Scholastic Book Fair time! Speaking of books, there are a ton of fabulous reads hitting shelves this month. 
Here are some of this month's MG releases I'm looking forward to getting my hands on:

                 


What are some MG releases you're looking forward to reading this month?

Monday, March 31, 2014

File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents by Lemony Snicket; Spotlight

Happy Marvelous Middle Grade Monday! 
Today I'm so thrilled to be apart of Little Brown's feature for Lemony Snicket's FILE UNDER: 13 SUSPICIOUS INCIDENTS.
Here's a little bit about the book.


Out tomorrow, April 1st, 2014, Lemony Snicket's newest release, File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents, will be available to purchase in print, ebook and audiobook formats. The audiobook features the talents of Holly Black, Libba Bray, Kon Klassen, Jon Scieszka, Ira Glass & Rachel Maddow. 

Crack the case with Lemony Snicket in File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents. Set in the same mysterious world as All The Wrong Questions series, the young apprentice investigates thirteen suspicious incidents occurring around town.

In the thirteen top-secret cases, paintings have been falling off of walls, a loud and loyal dog has gone missing, a specter has been seen walking the pier at night—strange things are happening all over the town of Stain'd-By-The-Sea. Called upon the investigate, young Lemony Snicket collects clues, questions witnesses, and cracks every case. Join the investigation and tackle the mysteries alongside Snicket, then turn to the back of the book to see the solution revealed. 

Perfect for fans of Encyclopedia Brown, File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents welcomes readers into Lemony Snicket's world of deep mystery, mysterious depth, deductive reasoning, and reasonable deductions. 

I am so thrilled to now show with you an excerpt from Holly Black's narration of "Midnight Demon" by Lemon Snicket.



About The Author


Found out more of the mysterious Lemony Snicket here.

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~ Anna Quindlen

Good children's literature appeals not only to
the child in the adult, but to the adult in the child.
~ Anonymous ~