Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Here Comes Santa Cat by Deborah Underwood, Book Review

By: Deborah Underwood
Illustrated by: Claudia Rueda
Published by: Dial (Penguin Kids)
Released on: 10.21.14
Age: 3 and up
Source: purchased
Rating: 5 Owlets - I LOVED IT!
Purchase from: Amazon | B&N
Add it to Goodreads

Cat took on a bunny in Here Comes the Easter Cat, but now Christmas is coming, and Cat has a hunch he's not on Santa's "nice" list. Which means? No presents for Cat. So he tries to be good, but children, it seems, aren't wild for his brand of gift-giving. Still, Cat might surprise himself, and best of all, he may just get to meet the man in the red suit himself—and receive a holiday surprise of his own. Fans of Pete the Cat, Splat the Cat, and Bad Kitty will delight in this holiday treat

I realize it's now after Christmas, but I have to share my love of this book. This is a book I picked up yesterday for a steal of a deal at the book store. Just in case you didn't know, Barnes & Noble has all their Christmas books marked at 50% off! There was no way I could say no to prices like that. 

I love this book! Now I understand all the excitement surrounding Cat, and why this books have been highly recommended. Cat is fabulous! The illustrations are adorable. I love how Cat's facial expressions and body language are captured. Young readers won't have any problems picking up on what Cat is feeling or thinking  The story is fabulous. I like how simple it is, making it easy for young children to understand it. 

Cat hasn't made the best choices this year. With one day before Christmas, he tries to find ways to do good so he can receive a present from Santa. After all, only those who are good receive a present Santa. Will Cat be able to do good and spread Christmas cheer before Santa arrives? 

This book is THE perfect read-a-loud. The narrator is awesome. Seriously, this book couldn't have been more perfectly written. I loved the humor in this book. This is a book I would HIGHLY recommend picking up! You don't be disappointed that you did. 

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~ Anna Quindlen

Good children's literature appeals not only to
the child in the adult, but to the adult in the child.
~ Anonymous ~