Monday, February 8, 2016

Here Comes Valentine Cat by Deborah Underwood / Book Review

By: Deborah Underwood
Illustrated by: Claudia Rueda 
Published by: Dial Books for Young Readers
Released on: December 22nd, 2015
Ages: All 
Purchase from: The Publisher | Amazon | B&N
Add it to Goodreads
Rating: 5 Owlets - We Loved It!
*I received this book from the publisher to review, in exchange for my honest review

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day—but he’s not interested in giving a valentine to any old dog. This homage to classic comic strips is perfect for fans of Pete the CatBad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Pigeon books, and of course, Cat’s two previous capers, Here Comes the Easter Catand Here Comes Santa Cat.
Cat does NOT like Valentine’s Day. It’s much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry “valentine” telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge. 

Underwood and Rueda have done it again! Here Comes Valentine Cat, is another memorable story staring our favorite cat. With adorable illustrations, and a story that has plenty of humor and heart, Cat continues to prove why fans of all ages love his stories. Not a fan of Valentine's Day, Cat learns there is more to the day than being mushy. Before Cat can get back at the pesky dog that lives next door for continually throwing his bones and ball over the fence at him, he just might realize that friends can be found in unexpected places. 

Cat continues to prove why he's such a charming, lovable character. Here Comes Valentine Cat has the right amount of both humor, and heartwarming, that we have come to except from his stories. We love Cat! This is another fantastic Cat story, and one we highly recommend picking up! If you have already got the rest of Cat's stories on your selves, be sure to pick this one up this Valentine's Day. If this is your first 'Here Comes' Cat book, then what are you waiting for? Hurry and pick this one up! You won't be disappointed that you did. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~ Anna Quindlen

Good children's literature appeals not only to
the child in the adult, but to the adult in the child.
~ Anonymous ~