Monday, June 13, 2016

A Clatter of Jars by Lisa Graff / Celebrating Lisa Graff / Giveaway

Summer vacation is in full swing, and that means there's plenty of time for summer reading! It wouldn't be summer without adding a book or two, or more of Lisa Graff's to your summer reading list. 

I'm so thrilled to team up with Penguin to celebrate author Lisa Graff. Lisa's middle grade books have been a huge hit with young readers. Through out the summer I'll be featuring each of her books here on Mundie Kids. 

Today I'm thrilled to feature her newest release, A CLATTER OF JARS. Perfect for fans of Matilda, this is a fantastic story! Released on May 24th by Philomel, and perfect for ages 8-12, this book is one that features summer cap, a lake full of magic, and a few secrets.  Though it's a sequel to A Tangle of Knots, this is a book I read as a stand alone, and really enjoyed it.  


Published by: Philomel
Released on: May 24th, 2016
Series: A Tangle of Knots
Purchase from: Amazon | B&N | IndieBound
Add it to Goodreads 

For magically Talented kids, the place to be is Camp Atropos, where they can sing songs by the campfire, practice for the Talent show, and take some nice long dips in the lake. But what the kids don't know is that they've been gathered for a reason—one that the camp's director wants to keep hidden at all costs. 

Meanwhile, a Talent jar that has been dropped to the bottom of the lake has sprung a leak, and strange things have begun to happen. Dozens of seemingly empty jars have been washing up on the shoreline, Talents have been swapped, and memories have been ripped from one camper's head and placed into another—and no one knows why. A return to the world of A TANGLE OF KNOTS, this camp for Talented kids might just be a recipe for disaster!


Lisa Graff is the critically acclaimed and award-winning author of the National Book Award nominee A Tangle of Knots, as well as Lost in the SunAbsolutely AlmostDouble Dog DareUmbrella SummerThe Life and Crimes of Bernetta WallflowerThe Thing About Georgie and Sophie Simon Solves Them All. Originally from California, she lived for many years in New York City and now makes her home just outside of Philadelphia.


Readers will love the inventiveness—and the sadness—of every storyline…
This is a novel that rewards a second—or even a third—reading.”—Kirkus Reviews

Warmhearted…Graff brings the plot threads to a satisfying resolution.”—Publishers Weekly

“The tale comes full circle sweetly, with a fun twist that connects lives from both books
in an unexpected way… Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering
is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection.”—School Library Journal

Highly satisfying…Graff’s vivid character development and world building
makes for tight plotting and nicely negotiable complexity.”—Booklist


Thank you to Penguin, I have a Lisa Graff prize pack, featuring a paperback copy of each of the books featured in the image above, to giveaway to one lucky reader! To enter, please fill out the form below. *US residents only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good Luck & Happy Reading!
I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~ Anna Quindlen

Good children's literature appeals not only to
the child in the adult, but to the adult in the child.
~ Anonymous ~