Thursday, May 18, 2017

Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties by Tom Watson & Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere by Elise Gravel / Giveaway

It's the end of the week (almost), which is the perfect time to celebrate some recent releases and host a giveaway! We've teamed up with Harper Collins to giveaway a copy of Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties and Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere. Both of these books are great for reluctant readers, and are in stores now. Not to mention, they're great for young aspiring artists, as the books are full or illustrations. 


Perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Big Nate, and animal lovers everywhere – meet Stick Cat!  A heavily illustrated young reader series, from the author of Stick Dog – Tom Watson!

In the first adventure (available now), it’s a big day in the big city for Stick Cat and his best friend, Edith. There are treasures to hunt, songs to sing, pigeons to catch, and naps to take. But way up on the 23rd floor, danger lurks just around the corner. Terrible noises and violent crashes trap a desperate man in the building across the alley. Stick Cat will need to navigate his way across the alley—and around Edith’s peculiar ways—to attempt a rescue. 

The next adventureStick Cat: Cats in the City, arrives on April 25th

About The Author

Tom Watson lives in Chicago with his wife, daughter, and son. He is the author of the Stick Dog series and the Stick Cat series. This is the first book in that series. Tom does not have a cat. So his ideas for the Stick Cat series come from a whole different place. He’s not sure where that place is exactly, but he knows it’s kind of strange there. While he has your attention, Tom would like to make one thing perfectly clear: There are not going to be any other stick animal books. There won’t be a Stick Monkey, for instance. Or Stick Chicken (even though that’s fun to say) or even Stick Giraffe (even though that would be fun to draw). He’s having plenty of fun just with dogs and cats.

Additional Content

Visit the Official Site for the Stick Cat series


Olga finds a creature in her garbage can one day, and all it says is “MEH!” 

It won’t eat, it won’t sleep, it snores, it stinks, and Olga studies it like mad. She adores it and eventually names it after herself--an OLGAMUS. A trip to the library reveals little, while a trip to the local shop proves successful when Olga discovers Meh’s favorite food is olives! These episodes take place over a few days in Olga’s never-dull life, and she manages to reveal a great amount of information not only about herself, but about everything from the scientific method and Jane Goodall and some of her favorite odd creatures to the ins and outs of friendship and every human’s use for living in a community. 

Perfect for fans of Dear Dumb Diary and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish, and great preparation for El Deafo, Roller Girl, and Smile.

About The Author

Elise Gravel is an award-winning author/illustrator from Quebec. She is the winner of the Governor General’s Award for Children’s Illustration in French, and is well-known in Quebec for her original, wacky picture books. She has published a number of books with US publisher Blue Apple as well as a graphic novel for Roaring Brook Press. Having completed her studies in graphic design, Elise found herself quickly swept up into the glamorous world of illustration. Her old design habits drive her to work a little text here and there into her drawings and she loves to handle the design of her assignments from start to finish. She is inspired by social causes and is likes projects that can handle a good dose of eccentricity. Follow Elise on Instagram.

Additional Content
Visit the Official Site for Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere
Read a sample from Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere.
Learn to Draw! Embed the video: Drawing Animals with Elise Gravel


  • Copies of Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties and Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere
  • Art prints from each book’s creators

Open to US addresses only.
Prizing and samples provided by HarperCollins.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck & Happy Reading!


  1. "Which do you like to do on your free time, read or draw?" I read, but I need to be doing more artwork!

  2. I read in my free time but my daughter likes to do both. Thanks.

  3. Awesome post sweetie :D Stick cat looks adorable. I love cats the most. <3 Both books looks great, though :)

  4. I read every spare minute I have and always have been an avid reader.

  5. Read read read and read some more.


I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. ~ Anna Quindlen

Good children's literature appeals not only to
the child in the adult, but to the adult in the child.
~ Anonymous ~